Cartogram of England by Population

Map of UK

The cartogram above shows what England would look like if we all had the same amount of space to live. That's to say, if the size of the counties were proportional to the number of people who live there.

Roll your mouse over the cartogram to get the names of the counties.

Each block on the cartogram represents 10,000 people living in that county - so London, with a population of just over 7 million has 712 blocks. North Yorkshire, despite being the largest county in terms of area, only has three-quarters of a million people living there, and therefore has just 75 blocks.

Counties are in the same layout as normal, so they have only their original neighbours. This is the reason for the strange shape of both the country and the individual counties. If you want a standard map to compare this one with, click here

Statistically, in the UK, all but 400,000 of us live on less than 6% of the land (Source: Guardian, August 2003).

The data is taken from the 2001 Census, and has been rounded down to the nearest 10,000.
Source: National Statistics website: Crown copyright material is reproduced with the permission of the Controller of HMSO.

Where a county doesn't have an overall administative council, the sum of each relevant council has been used. The colours are purely to seperate counties, although where possible urban areas are represented by darker colours.

The other countries (Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland, Isle of Man and the Channel Islands) have been included for comparison. Population data for Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland has been taken from the National Statistics website, and the other countries from the CIA World Factbook. Please note that the inclusion of islands on the Scottish and Welsh coastline is for illustration only, and the pixels used do not represent the population sizes of these islands, although they are counted as part of the country's total.

CountyIncludes (unitary authorities)Total Population (000’s)
BerkshireBracknell Forest, Reading, Slough, West Berkshire, Windsor and Maidenhead, Wokingham798
Brighton and Hove 247
BuckinghamshireMilton Keynes686
Cheshire 673
Cornwall 501
Cumbria 487
DevonPlymouth, Torbay1,073
Durham 493
East Riding of YorkshireCity of Hull557
East Sussex 492
EssexThurrock, Southend-on-Sea1,613
GloucestershireSouth Gloucestershire809
Greater Manchester* 2,482
HampshirePortsmouth, Southampton (and Isle of Wight)1,643
Herefordshire 174
Hertfordshire 1,033
LancashireBlackburn, Blackpool1,413
LeicestershireLeicester, Rutland922
LincolnshireNorth Lincolnshire, North East Lincolnshire955
London 7172
Norfolk 796
Northamptonshire 629
Northumberland 307
North YorkshireYork750
Oxfordshire 605
ShropshireTelford and Wrekin441
SomersetNorth Somerset, Bath and North East Somerset855
South Yorkshire* 1,266
Suffolk 668
Surrey 1,059
TeesDarlington, Hartlepool,Middlesborough, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees636
Tyne and Wear* 1,075
Warrington 191
Warwickshire 505
West Yorkshire* 2,079
Worcestershire 542
Scotland 5,062
Wales 2903
Northern Ireland 1,685
Republic of Ireland 3,924
Isle of Man 60
Guernsey 68
Jersey 90

* Denotes a metropolitan county.

Source: National Statistics website:
Crown copyright material is reproduced with the permission of the Controller of HMSO.

Created by Olly Benson.